Rainstorms Pass Away Unlike Headstones and Graves


Empty apartment, quiet room
Except for the intermittent flow of air
Whispered from my furnace,
Inadequately heating this
Small
Studio
Apartment

Memory speaks from the darkest crevices
Probably aided part by vodka
And an open space to roam
Reminding me, yet again, I am
Still
Here
Alone.

I am covered like a cruel joke
By its black quilt, my size
I can’t see anything but black
But when the nighttime illusion is removed
Everything
Is
Dark

Weeks, I could go weeks and months
Without a rollback into the dark tide
And grey rain clouds that disappear to the air like you
But some nights are hard I…
Can’t
Fight
Back

My only reprieve is sleep
Sometimes you go away if I sleep.
Rainstorms on a bleak day
Pass away unlike
Headstones
And
Graves

Leave a Reply

