… That I Can Build New Hope Upon

a328ef677bd650df6b5c5bad7f515e21

Sometimes, there is more soul in songs you can’t directly apply to your life situation. It’s the songs that evoke the hope, the desire, and sometimes the despair of your hopes and desires that makes a song real. It brings the ache into focus and makes you recall the things you thought you’d long since forgotten or, maybe, things you wish you could forget.

Sometimes, it’s the songs that tell the story you wish was yours that grab hold of you and shake you free of all the clutter and make you remember, despite that recurring pain in your guts, you are still living. I heard this song today and it was special like that. Maybe you’ll remember the freedom of your aching wants, your desired things in this tune as well.

Well, tomorrow may not be like any other day
It’s so hard to know now, what with the collecting they

See, lately they’ve been swinging high the wrecking ball
Tipping dirt on the foundations I spent so long upon
Making sure they would be strong

But you and I, we are hard as stone
You and I, we are hard as stone

I may empty out my pockets in their hat one day
Then I’ll turn my back and I will simply walk away

They may think it over and reach out their hand
But I’ll have long since disappeared by then like water in the sand
‘Cause you see, gold was all that they had planned

But you and I, we are hard as stone
You and I, we are hard as stone

They’re like pawns on attack
And I’m back here castling
Trying to find my feet
And find my joie de vive again
But I can’t make it on my own
And I need something strong
That I can build new hope upon

But you and I, we are hard as stone
You and I, we are hard as stone

You and I
You and I
You and I
You and I
Baby, you and I
You and I

Leave a Reply

