“God Bless the Concrete and the Chaos it Keeps”

Parking Lot

Lately things have felt
empty
like staring at an open
expanse of desert waiting
for some sort of surprise
opportunity to come my way
and save me from this
desolation I have come to embrace
these days.
I see concrete in all ways
all directions
I am grinding my boots
into the gravel and cracks
as I travel hoping to
leave my mark as I go.
Go where?
I haven’t the slightest clue
and I’ve heard the journey
is half the fun
but I’m getting tired of
painted lines and unlit streetlamps.

Leave a Reply

