I Hope You Suffer

This song couldn’t have come out at a more fitting time.

I’m also really excited to hear what the rest of the album sounds like. After reading an article on RollingStone.com I was pleased to read that the album is going to move away from the stripped-down sound of Crash Love. From the sound of this single, it sounds like it may be more visceral. A quote from frontman Davey Havok has me hopeful.

“It is certainly – embarrassingly so – a very dark album, especially in its candidness, which is something, to be honest, that’s disappointing to me,” he says. “It’s something I just keep coming back to – I can’t escape it. It’s always a joy to me to reach away from that. But the themes and sentiments on this record are within that darker realm and that darker tone because I’ve always been honest in everything that I write. It’s beyond me. I’m crippled. There’s nothing I can do but be genuine in my writing, and that’s what came out this time – without any sort of pointed effort.”

“I really feel [the title] speaks of the overall sentiment of the record,” he continues. “The album really speaks of a burial of a silence and the burials that result from those silences of panic and anxiety and betrayal and cruelty – and a loss of self, a loss of stability.” [RollingStone.com]

Loudwire.com quotes Davey describing the album:

“This record is of silence, of burials, and the burials that result from that silence. It’s of betrayal, cruelty, weakness, anxiety, panic — deep and slow — despair, injury and loss. And in this it is shamefully honest and resolutely unforgiving.”

That sounds like the AFI I remember from 2003 and before. Despite being a huge fan of their entire corpus, I am excited to hear them go back into the dark. The release date has been set at October 22nd. I look forward to seeing the pre-order packages as well as the special editions that will likely be forthcoming.

UPDATE: AFI has released an official music video for their first single. Basic but effective, Davey carries the emotion of the song in both his face and body language. Check it out:

Leave a Reply

