Daydream Believer

Do you believe in following your dreams?

Do you chase them, pursue them with everything you have, running on bare feet until the bottoms of them are bleeding? Do your dreams mean that much to you?

I have to ask myself that question and I’ve been doing it a lot. For those who may not know, my intent after graduating with my bachelors is to seek higher education in a Masters degree in Counseling Psychology. This is a dream because the school I want to go to is in Seattle, WA and the idea of moving away from my family and a city I know like the back of my hand is kind of scary. It’s normal to be anxious about such things, or so says my therapist. But my dream is to be in Seattle before this time next year starting my first semester at the Seattle School of Theology & Psychology.

Why Counseling? Many reasons but mostly I believe this is what God has called me to my whole life. The signs have always been there I just ignored them and pursued my passions. You can see how far that got me. I’ll be graduating with my BA at 27 years of age. But counseling is the beginning. What I want to do is start a practice that is meant to handle all other facets of mental health which includes a personal trainer and maybe a minister. And, ideally, I’d like all the practitioners to be Christians too. I believe healing is a holistic process. But we’ll save that.

I’m trying not to keep this from anyone in hopes that the more I say it, the more real it will be and the more likely I’ll be to do it.

Another dream I had was to be a musician. I wanted to be in a band but that hasn’t panned out because Omaha is now utterly bereft of reliable musicians who are open to the style of music I am looking to play. For one reason or another (some legitimate reasons) I haven’t been able to do that. I miss being on stage and I miss performing in front of people. I miss the violence and visceral response to what I was doing. I did it for almost 5 years straight. And I missed it so.

Then I got this idea to record my own music. So, I bought an 8-track digital recorder and started playing with it to see how it works. I hope to start writing my own music and recording it along with my spoken word poetry. Both are dreams I have been pursuing for some time. I love music and I adore poetry. I don’t want to be famous, I just want to create and maybe have some fans some day. I don’t know.

Dreams should just be high-end goals. They shouldn’t be treated as if it’s something you want to do but will never get the chance. That’s the connotation that frustrates me to my end. If God is the creator of the universe, when he rested I think he had creative dreams. I think he created us with the ability to dream so we could aspire to the great things he has planned for us. That is a beautiful thing and I hope to strive for those dreams until the day I get to go home for good.

Leave a Reply

