Church. Family.

I don’t know how long this post is going to be but I thought I would share this moment because it was probably one of the most beautiful experiences I’ve ever had in my church aside from watching friends get baptized.

I love my church, first of all. It is one of the only churches I have attended (and I’ve been to a few) where I feel like I have a family there. I feel like I belong. Since I came back from my hiatus caused by my health issues I’ve had hugs, pats on the back and all sorts of other stuff. People have expressed their sentiments about how happy they are to see me back. Most of them were aware of some of the problems but that was enough and it was like being welcomed back home.

There are a lot of people I’ve become friends with over the last few years. We don’t have a lot of what you would dub “Normal” people in our church which is entirely fine with me. I’ve made friends with a lot of the people that were like me when they were younger but due to jobs or just growing up they decided to shed their garb for more normal clothing, families, children and such.

Today we prayed for a family that have become good friends since they started attending. They’re an Air Force family and the husband is still active. He’s being deployed for a few months which I could already tell was going to be hard on his wife and I’m sure his young daughter was going to miss her father.

So, our pastor called them up and asked every one to gather around them. And the entire congregation got up and surrounded them as we prayed for them. I was able to take a spot right behind both of them. Being their friends that seemed important to me for some reason. But it was just wonderful to see our entire congregation, though small, rally around a family as they approach this difficult time.

There were so many hands on my back and on my shoulders as not everyone could lay hands on them it was incredible. When it was all over, I looked up to see my pastor and best friend and all he could say was:

“That is how you do church”

Leave a Reply

