Eating the Elephant

August 15, 2012

It’s always just one more thing.

It’s not enough that I’m stressed out about school starting in 5 days and I have a full class load. That should be enough on its own considering I had to spend over $500 on textbooks alone for this semester. That should be an indicator at how difficult my last full semester is going to be. And the fact that I have to do really well this year because I need to get my GPA up above a 3.0 so I don’t have to take any entrance exams to get into grad school. I just have to meet all of the other admission requirements and do a lot of other things to get in to my school of choice.

It’s not enough that I work 32 hours a week at a job that just frustrates me to no end. It requires very little mental engagement on my part and I’ve been doing it for over 6 years. But if I couple that with school I have a pretty full week of class, homework and who knows how much homework and all the other stuff that will come up in the next 9 or so months. As if that wasn’t enough.

Not to mention that you live over 1,200 miles away.

I got a text from my mom telling me that I got a notice from the IRS that they were questioning something from my 2010 tax return. It’s a personal quirk that I do not like math and I really do not like paperwork or administrative processes at all. They both stress me out and I have very little patience. So, tax time is handled by TurboTax so that I don’t have to deal with any of that and a computer program does that for me. So, how a mistake could have been made on my part is beyond me and it’s extremely frustrating.

It’s hard to take it a day at a time when each day has the potential to add stress to my life for extended periods of time. But, as my mom would tell me, I shouldn’t try to eat the elephant all at once. I need to take a deep breath and take it one step at a time. I shouldn’t stress because it could be something small that I can fix relatively easily.

For those of you who don’t understand it, the concept of eating the elephant all at once was something that was introduced to me by my mom ages ago. My tendency has always been to stress about whole issues because I can’t resolve them right away. She told me one day that I couldn’t eat a whole elephant if I wanted to when I started stressing about the issue. I was taking on an insurmountable task to try and fix it at once. Then she told me the solution.

You have to eat the elephant a spoonful at a time.

Leave a Reply

