Living Rhythm

I’ve been fascinated with music for a very, very long time. It stems from being raised by a mom that didn’t think housework or travel were ever to be done in complete silence. From a very young age I learned how to operate a cassette player and put in the tapes she and I always listened to. So, I can remember listening to all sorts of music from the 70’s and 80’s from a beat up black boom box.

I loved that thing. They don’t make them like that anymore. It was one with box speakers attached to each end. We actually still have it.

Anyway, the habit of never being able to sit in silence, to always have music playing somewhere continued on and now I even go so far as to break the rules at work and listen to my iPod while taking phone calls. It actually helps me to focus if you can believe it.

With my love of music came a natural desire to want to create it, to learn it. I picked up the guitar and have played poorly for about a decade. Music has been a powerful force in my life, putting me in three or four bands in the span of about 5 years as well as dabbling in writing my own music at home. Music teaches you melody, it teaches you harmony and it teaches you rhythm.

And if you pay close attention you’ll notice there’s a lot of rhythm to life.

It used to be that I would stay up until 3 AM watching something on NetFlix or a movie from my vast collection. It’s summer, so I figure there’s no point in being awake in the morning. So, I’d wake up with enough time to get ready for work, suffer through 8.5 hours of nonsense and then repeat. Every work day would be a repeat of that rhythm.

Then my rhythm got disrupted completely a few weeks ago.

Since then I’ve had to reassemble my rhythm and it’s been strange to realize the difference it’s made once I start sticking to those changes. I’ve since started getting to bed by midnight which means my body naturally wakes me up by 9:30 every morning. I shake it out and work out 60-90 minutes and I feel good. I made mention in a previous post how odd it is for me to have a good day and to feel good. That has been a really big help. And, of course, I have to listen to music while I work out. On days I work, I go to work then come home and I listen to a radio show my mom and I used to listen to in the mornings when I was a kid, hosted by Delilah.

Through all of this it’s been nice to feel in step with that rhythm every step of the way. As a friend pointed out it’s good to find this now because I know it’s not going to be like this every day. So, before I go to bed I listen to Delilah until she signs out at midnight and go to bed. You’d have to listen to the show to understand and, even then, I don’t know if you will.

Ultimately, I think God created the earth to operate in a specific rhythm which is why we have days, months and years. He gave us an organ whose function depends on rhythm or it ceases to function and we die. I think the first musician in the history of mankind was the one who first discovered the rhythm of his heartbeat. And when we discover rhythm I think life becomes easier and we can see things a little clearer.

Leave a Reply

