High Rise

Here’s the lyrics to a song that came to me in a dream.

I was sitting in a room
with a dear old friend
having long conversations
about nothing
on a stolen park bench

There’s a girl in the room
Sitting on the bed
Brown eyes, black hair
black and silver dress
Yeah she really wants to impress

But her heart runs cold
her story’s been told
but not this way
Oh, not this way.
See, there’s a life outside
She’s ready to shed
From the lies she’s been told
to a romance that’s near dead

She gets up to leave
and I can tell she’s bored
two guys talking nothing
is nothing to stick around for
She makes her way to the door

She and I were supposed to talk
She didn’t tell me why
My friend just ran his mouth
While her tear ducts ran dry
He wants her; I can see it in his smile

(that wolf)

She’s close to the exit
and she stares at the floor
My friend tries to get her number
as he stands to say goodbye
She looks down into my eyes

And my heart runs cold
her story’s untold
“Don’t go that way
Oh, please just stay
See, there’s a life outside
I know you’re ready to shed
From the lies you’ve been told
to a romance that’s near dead.”

So I stood up between my friend and her
I grabbed her arm and pulled her gently
her ear to my mouth.
And I whispered gently to her heart
The wasted beauty that is her life
is tearing me apart.
Don’t waste your life on broken dreams
and the prince you met who rules your life
with pitiful tyranny
And she pulled her eyes from off the floor
and met my gaze spoke volumes to me
the tears she shed wrote lines of poetry
to me.
I tell her please don’t leave…

And her heart’s not cold
her story still untold
but it’s not gonna be that way
not gonna be that way
The window in my apartment shows
the daylight through the clouds
That she’s been living in
And that romance dies against he pavement

She has tossed her glass heart
off the high rise to the ground.

Leave a Reply

