Reflections of a Church Planting Intern: Week 11

Oh, what can I tell you about this week?

First off, the purpose of this week was to show me the administrative side of doing things at the church. It’s not the most glamorous or most noticed work in the entire church. But I did get to experience it firsthand to see just how glamorous it isn’t. Not that it was bad or hard or anything but it’s just something that, even if I pointed out to you that I did it that you would even bat an eyelash. More likely you would just shrug your shoulders, say “Oh” and go on with your life. And that’s entirely fine. Some of my best work is done when almost nobody knows about it. Or maybe I just don’t get any trouble that way… Hard to get in trouble if you don’t get caught doing it!

But really, it was a real smooth week and I’m glad that I was able to learn some things. Like the fact that Pages is a fitful little beast and its text boxes are difficult to manage sometimes. But I still like it infinitely better than OpenOffice and certainly much more than I like Microsoft Word.

And then there was learning to speak from the heart and being completely honest with people you know and love. I got to witness this firsthand at this little preaching class thing that we’ve been holding for a few weeks. First week up actually doing sermons for a couple of the guys. They did well in spite of their circumstances but I got to see a coach moment from Ben that really made me sit back and think. It’s hard to tell guys you’re friends with some harsh critiques but to see it done well is really something amazing to witness altogether.

Aside from that there wasn’t a whole lot to my week. I went to an art show which has absolutely nothing to do with the internship but was a really rad experience. I got to hang out and talk to people that I’ve been writing on a project with for the last month or so. I was happy I got to do that.

If you have any questions, leave ’em below. I am all out of gas and starting this week I’m doing P90x. It’s going to suck, I’m going to hate it for a while but it’s gotta be done. Keep prayin’ for me.

Leave a Reply

