Reflections of a Church Planting Intern: Week 10

I think I will start by telling you the first thing that came to my head when fired up the wordpress to write this blog:

I’m done with week 10? How?!

I think everyone has started to ask this question for one reason or another. Time is fleeting and summer is slipping away oh, so quickly. I just got notified that my books were available for sale for the upcoming semester. That means classes start in about 3 weeks. Part of me is ready to go back but part of me is really not looking forward to what my schedule is going to look like: Classes from 8-11:50, work from 1:30-10 on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. As it stands I will have Tuesdays completely off and so my time will be spent working out (I’ve talked myself into P90x.), doing homework and hopefully sleeping. I also hope to continue writing which is why I added a class on writing poetry to my schedule.

But that’s not what you’ve come here for, is it weary web traveller, wanton sailor of the blogosphere? No. You wanted to hear about my week. I suppose I’d better talk about it otherwise the title is just a complete and utter lie. We can’t have that, now can we?

The focus of this week was prayer. That was one of the first things out of Ben’s mouth this week. We talked about the way Jesus wanted us to pray and it essentially broke down into three parts. If I’m being honest I can’t remember what they were because my memory is terrible when it comes to stuff like that. I don’t do lists. It’s part of the reason why I can’t stand systematic theology… I digress. So, we talked about some things that Ben wanted me to do which I can remember a lot better which I’m sure you’re happy to read.

First was to pray for everyone I could think of in the church whether I knew them or not. This was Tuesday which is my long day in the week. After our conversation about prayer I went into my office. I realized in my head that I was not going to be able to focus with the “quiet” that the office provided.  Quiet in that office means you can hear Ben talking on his phone through the wall. So, in the interest of not eavesdropping and just so I could focus I put on some music. No, it wasn’t any of the crazy metal bands I listen to because I’d focus on their words and not my conversation with God. So, I picked some of my favorite instrumental music composed by a band called Godspeed You! Black Emperor from their album “Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven”. This is really good prayer music as it is mellow and unobtrusive.

Praying for everyone in the church isn’t all that difficult to do as a whole group but when I had to go person by person it got to be more difficult.  Of course, I know quite a few of them and so, for those whom I knew had need I prayed specifically for that need. For those that I didn’t know I guess I tried to be as general as possible…

OK, this is actually really weird for me to talk about as I feel like I’m directing a lot of attention at me and I don’t really want to do that. Jesus made it pretty clear how he felt about prayer and I myself have my own reservations about it that I talked about in an earlier blog. So, quite honestly I think I’ll leave it at what I’ve written about the subject and just move right along to my next task which is pretty simple. I was to go around Gretna praying for kingdom growth and for the kingdom to move. This was especially difficult since I’m pretty easily distracted when it comes to people and me driving.

It was a fairly uneventful week besides that. I even spent some time reading a book that I wanted to read and not an assignment. Which reminds me now that I do have a book assigned to me that I need to read.

That’s all I got.

Leave a Reply

