Reflections of a Church Planting Intern: Week 5

Not of first importance as far as the overall meaning of this blog but of first importance because it is in the forefront of my mind as I prepare to get this entry going, I must advise you that I did watch a lot of Jackass and related videos this week. As many of you may know, recently they suffered a major loss in their crew in Ryan Dunn. You can say what you will about the tactics and shenanigans that these guys have been up to the past decade but I feel I must show some respect to these guys since they spent a decade letting people into their weird little world of making each other laugh. This group of dudes had a huge impact on me and my friends as we entered high school and made our ways into college and so I felt some sort of respect for the loss of the Jackass crew and the people, including myself, who they’ve made laugh over the years. And I’m going to be honest about last week.

I needed a good laugh.

That isn’t to say that last week was horrible, per se. No, it was more like a slow grind and just refused to move any faster. Work was getting the best of me in some ways and a little stress started to creep in regarding the plans for A2’s Gretna Days parade plans. I haven’t really been stressed at all this summer which was a nice relief from the hell of a year that I had in school and life. So, when that old, cold feeling decided to seep it’s way into my gut I was surprised and a little unsettled, admittedly. So, having to adjust to that was something. Then it all snowballed into Thursday where I was given assurance that the things I’ve learned from this internship and school are actually sinking in.

Thursday rolled around.

If you didn’t read my previous post, I don’t know if I can recommend it for anything else except for maybe context. My grandpa died of complications from bone cancer December 31st of last year. HIs request was to be cremated and so that entailed scattering the ashes. The funeral we had for him a few days after he died wasn’t much of a comfort nor did it really give me a good sense of finality about the whole thing. So, it’s now almost 6 months after the whole ordeal and I get a call from my mom telling me that we’re going to scatter the ashes. This was Tuesday of last week. I was asked if I could go and I could so I did. But my grandma asked my mom if I’d be willing to say something and lead everyone there in the Lord’s prayer. I guess that was a big thing for my grandpa so that made it a big deal for me.

As I thought about the whole ordeal before it went down I reflected on what the Bible said about man’s time on earth and it all brought me back to Genesis 3. As we prepared to scatter the remains on the fairgrounds he spent so much time on, it seemed only appropriate to ask the small group of family there to reflect on the fact that by scattering his ashes we symbolize what God told Adam when he cast him and Eve out of Eden. He toiled all his life in the dirt of those fairgrounds among other places, and so we returned his body to the dirt in which he worked. I don’t think it was a mere accident that Adam was named for the ground from which he came from.

I don’t know that I have anything entirely insightful to say about this week other than that. It was another one of those times where the things I did outside of the hours of my internship that really had a bigger effect and tell a much bigger story than what I do while I’m in the building. I have to think that’s the point of all of it. I few pieces of news, I suppose. I have been asked to participate in a 30 day writing project by a friend and some of her other writing friends coming up in about a week. That’s pretty exciting. There have also been some rumblings of possibly preaching again soon. I hesitate to give any details right now, though.

If I could ask anything it would be to see God continue to move in my life and in others. As the weeks go on I continue to think of ways to creatively breaching the walls of the people of Gretna.

On a completely unrelated note: I had the unfortunate assignment of reading The Great Omission by Dallas Willard. I won’t post a review on it or anything because it’s been out for a while. I’ll just say that he did a poor job of supporting his arguments and I couldn’t finish the book. I do not recommend it.

This song has ruled my world this week. I highly suggest you give it a listen:


City & Colour – “Little Hell”

Music
Grieves – “Together/Apart”
P.O.S. – “Never Better”
B. Dolan – “Fallen House, Sunken City”
30 Seconds to Mars – S/T
Scatter the Ashes – “Devout/The Modern Hymn”
Blaqk Audio – “CexCells”
AFI – “DECEMBERUNDERGROUND”
City & Colour – “Little Hell”

Movies
CKY: Landspeed
CKY2K
CKY3
CKY4
Jackass 3D
Jackass 3.5

Books
The Great Omission by Dallas Willard
Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton
The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare
The Prophetic Imagination by Walter Brueggeman

Leave a Reply

