From NE to TX

At the time I’m writing this it’s about 7:24 PM.  In about 12 hours I will depart from Papillion, NE for a missions trip in Dallas, TX.  I don’t have a whole lot of details right now as to what we’re doing because, apparently, this trip tends to be a little unpredictable.  Of the few details I have been given I can tell you that I will be staying on the campus of Wycliffe Bible Translators for the next week and will be doing work with Pioneer Bible Translators.  I’ve been told in the past its usually menial tasks and manual labor.  I’m not particularly concerned at the moment.

It’s amazing how some things have changed in the last 9 months or so.  If you would have told me just the vague info I just listed above I’d probably be near hysterics.  But I think God has been working on me a lot with that so I’m leaving it in His hands as much as possible.  Sure, I’m worried about some minute details but I’m not going to give them air here because I don’t even want to think about them.  I’ll lose my grip and focus.  To those few who actually read this, please keep my team and the rest of the students in yor prayers for this week as we all go out on our respective trips.  Especially pray for those who went to Croatia and Honduras this year.

In oher news, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and I’m still trying to flesh out this concept that I have in my head.  It started kind of like my previous post on motion.  Right now I’m trying to put together something about what I call looking at the [E]ternal rather than the [Ex]ternal.  Just basic ideas right now but I figured I’d share a little bit so I didn’t forget all of it before I got the chance to flesh it out.  The main focus is that we as Christians need to look at the [E]ternal and stop worrying so much about the [Ex]ternal.  It’ll involve a lot from Jesus’ ministry that flew in the face of what were then considered social taboos.  Just a thought but it’s got me excited to start really working so maybe I’ll have something by the time I come back at the end of the week.

Shifting gears, I’ve been working out all the details of renting a house here in Gretna.  Oddly enough, my friends and I were looking for a house to get us off campus for next year at NCC and my good friend and pastor of York E-Free church was renting his old house.  There are some  interesting things about this location.  One, of courses, was that it belonged to my friend and then pastor so I had hung out there a bit.  It’s actually just a few houses down the street from the house I grew up in until after I graduated High School and it’s also just across the street from my current pastor and very good friend Ben.  So, I’m pretty stoked about all of that.  The guys I’ll be living are the same guys that have helped me maintain my sanity the last few months after almost everything in my life went straight to hell.  I honestly cannot wait to get moved in but I am not looking forward to the moving process.  There’s just so much work involved I can’t even stand it sometimes.  So, I started moving in a bit at a time and have just some larger furniture to move.  Joy.

All things considered, life could be a lot worse.  🙂  I’ll write some more when I have time.  For now, here’s a couple of songs I’ve had in my head lately:

Rancid
“Fall Back Down”
Indestructible

New Radicals
“Someday We’ll Know”
Maybe You’ve Been Brainwashed Too

One thought on “From NE to TX

  1. “Unless the east never meets the west unless you lay my sins on your shoulderblades and forget unless you can part my ribs like the sea ans make stone beat,then there’s no hope for me” I came across your blog by accident, funny how that happens and I really needed to hear that there are others fighting in this great battle of ours. I hope God keeps you and blesses you on your way.
    _Josie

Leave a Reply

