Blacksmith’s Psalm

Shoved into the fire
now let the hammer
strike.
Mold.
Shape.
Form.
Back in the fire,
become more familiar with
the hammer as it
strikes.
And strikes again,
the resonating cry from the steel
as it bends to the will
of its aggressor.
And even now,
I can feel your hands
turning me in the fire
only to bring me out
strengthening me to seek
and defend a kingdom
fit for a princess,
a pauper
a loser,
someone worthless like me
I am lost without your anvil and hammer
your testing fires
that help you
to define me for
later tests of strength
for times of war.
Maker, forge me well.
My shell is strong but I
break too easily under pressure.
The contents of myself are
cracking and bowing
at the weakest of blows
these days.
Into the fire goes the steel,
under the hammer
it sustains
blow
after
blow
after
blow.
From the hammer
you sustain me.

Leave a Reply

